HOMEWORK RAIN OUT

Last Thursday we were assigned “homework” to complete before tomorrow’s naturalist class. We are all supposed to do three exercises: pick a “sit-spot” (preferably on the refuge) and for 30 to 60 minutes each session:

  • First, see what we could observe just with our eyes
  • Then find what we could observe just with  our ears
  • Finally, what we could observe with both

I got my first session in yesterday close to home at Lowami Hart Woodlands Park just sitting on a bench and looking (see below). I figured I could get the other two done today out at the Tualatin River Refuge. One hour would be listening and another with all senses firing.

A light rain was falling when I started out into the refuge, but it steadily picked up as I stood listening at my sit-spot. I finally took some pictures of rain dripping from my surroundings, and by the time I walked back to my car I was soaked.

Teacher, can I do homework makeup?

Johnston Creek, Lowami Hart Park
Johnston Creek, Lowami Hart Park
One thought on “HOMEWORK RAIN OUT”

Leave a Reply

