THE BIRDS ARE BACK AND SO AM I

I haven’t been out to the refuge for a couple of months due to personal commitments. But two days ago I attended a meeting of Volunteer Naturalists, and when it was over I took my first walk and pictures of the autumn. There’s limited water so far. Filling the big wetlands flats is called the flood-up, and it’s only partially complete. Some ducks are back with much more migratory waterfowl to come.

The last time I saw the ponds where my friends–the invertebrates and amphibians–live was totally dry. Now the west pond is partly filled and I’m sure life is returning.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The great thing about this time of year is that, although a lot of autumn leaves are gone, the low angle of the sunlight is mellow and beautiful even in the afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 thoughts on “THE BIRDS ARE BACK AND SO AM I”

Leave a Reply

