FEEDERWATCH

Marilynn got me a feeder last Christmas. So this year I’m participating in the Cornell University Ornithology’s Project FeedeerWatch. You calendar some times from November 12 through April 17 to watch the birds that come into your feeder area. Each observation session takes place on two consecutive days and then not again for at least five days. How long you watch is up to you. I’m doing two hours per morning today and tomorrow. Then you upload your data to Cornell’s database. It’s real citizen science, and the data is used in real published studies.

There wasn’t a lot of activity out my backdoor today. I guess even birds get off to a slow start on Mondays. But I did get a couple of pictures of a Song Sparrow on my fence.

It’s not too late to join in. Just see the instruction at: birds, http://feederwatch.org/

2 thoughts on “FEEDERWATCH”

Leave a Reply

